I came across a quote in my reading recently that I think connects well with what I was getting at in point three of my recent post on the doctrine of creation. The problem of evil and suffering has to be addressed by a doctrine of creation, even by Christian theology in general. However, ‘addressed’ does not mean ‘answered with logical axioms.’ Such logical answers actually fail to address the fundamental issue with suffering and effectively erase lament from the pages of Scripture. So, with that in mind, here’s the quote.

In taking up once again the theme of theodicy in theology I am not suggesting (as the word and its history might suggest) a belated and somewhat obstinate attempt to justify God in the face of evil, in the face of suffering and wickedness in the world. What is really at stake is the question of how one is to speak about God at all in the face of the abysmal histories of suffering in the world, in his world. In my view this is the question for theology; theology must not eliminate it or overrespond to it. It is the eschatological question, the question before which theology does not develop its answers reconciling everything, but rather directs its questioning incessantly back toward God.

Johann Baptist Metz, A Passion for God: The Mystical-Political Dimension of Christianity, trans. J. Matthew Ashley (Mahwah, NJ: Paulist), 55.

