Well, it’s that time of the year again. Thousands of academics donning earth-tones are once again going to descend upon an unsuspecting American city armed only with phonebook sized programs and tote bags. The legions of pant suits and sweater vests will aimlessly squirrel about downtown for a couple of days before ending this yearly ritual with a return to their pedagogical hibernation. If all goes well, this feast will sustain them through the harsh winter of teaching freshmen. It is the circle of academic life.

Of course, I am referring to the annual joint conference of the American Academy of Religion and the Society of Biblical Literature. This year, which is actually my first year, Chicago is the landing zone.

I was going to give you my personal recommendations for which sessions to attend. But then I realized:

1) You probably don’t care.
2) Knowing that I can’t possibly attend everything that interests me, I am going with the “wing it” method.
3) The meticulous Andy Rowell already made a mighty fine list.

So, if I am not going to tell you what sessions you should attend, why am I writing this post? Excellent question. I thought it would be worthwhile to sound the call for getting together.

Is anyone else going who would like to meet up and share a beverage derived from the bean or the hop? Shoot me an email (lawson DOT Stephen AT gmail). Alternatively, just look for the vagabond hanging out by the discounted theology books hoping that one falls to the floor (because then it is free).

We should hang out. I’m great fun.

